I Ching Sphere (Part 6): Levels 4, 5, 6

anime girl 138

I love to read.

I read all kinds of books, mostly for entertainment.  I hated non-fiction because I wanted to be entertained, not bored to death.  Unfortunately, nowadays, I read more non-fiction than I do anything else, not because I want to be bored but because I write fiction, and the only way to get the fiction to read accurately and believably is to have a very firm grasp on the truth, the non-fictional aspects with which to weave my tale around.

Sometimes, the research is very dry and dull, with the contents listed as basic ingredients in a recipe.  Sometimes, it is translated from ancient texts and it is a slog to read through.  Sometimes, it is a highly technical paper, in which case, it requires extra tangential research for me to comprehend the more complicated sections.

The various layers of the I Ching form has to take the cake as one of the most intricate reads that I have tried to do thus far.  Still, I am really glad I did it because it now gives me a more in-depth understanding  of how this mathematical system works.  I am getting really close to the end of this so I am going to push forward and get the last three Levels done in this final posting.  I can do this because much of the complexity of this level has been explained in previous levels so I will not belabor the points yet again.

Onward and upward to Level 4.

Level 4


Level 4 is very similar to Level 2 with the only difference being that the hexagrams now occupying this level has more yang lines than yin lines.  This is because the change has already occurred at Level 3, and it is getting closer to the father, Càn, the Creative Heaven at level 6.  

Immediate Excess

The first layer is the outermost ring of Level 4 called Immediate Excess.  It comprises four yang lines and two yin lines and it holds up the outer rings in a stable formation.  Hmm, wonder what the ‘excess’ is stemming from.  Methinks it’s just too much male energy here, but who am I to judge what’s excessive and what’s not.


As with Layer 2, Immediate Excess shares this layer with another set of siblings, but in a different dimension.


Water Circulating

As with Level 2, this layer is very similar, except it is no longer fire ascending but water circulating.  The Changes are diametrically opposite to that of level 2, with which it rises from.

Rising Water

It pulls inward, toward the center, and as it does, it moves faster.


Doubled Yin

As it speeds up, it becomes Doubled Yin.

Rising Openess

This is represented by A4, occupying the central axis of the hexagram at this level.

L4modified3A4 = {,   }

Once it has reached the central axis, it continues to move upwards until it breaks through into Level 5.

Level 5

Level 5 is called Bubble Circulating.


It occupies this level all by itself.  There is only one other layer to rise upward towards.  Level 6.


Level 6

And of course, we are back to Level 6, Heaven.

At this level, on top of the sphere sits Càn, the Creative Heaven is at level 6.   


Next post, I am going to tie all of these Levels and Layers together.

The Teikemeier/Drasny Sphere.  Dr Andreas Schöter. 2012

12 thoughts on “I Ching Sphere (Part 6): Levels 4, 5, 6

  1. The wise man shows the Moon, the fool looks at the finger. This is a nice research but ultimately hexagrams are fingers.


  2. DL, my intent in doing this research is not to clarify a reading or to ask for divine answers to any question. This research is a part of something much larger. I want to get to know the I Ching, not as a formless oracle, but as a thinking, intelligent being. Does that make any sense?


  3. And BTW: It’s enlightening to know that you think me a fool. It makes everything, all the work I have done up to this point all worthwhile.


  4. No I don’t think that you are a fool. You could collect and study cheese boxes all your life in the end you will have gained some knowledge. It’s only foolish to think that it will help you with the oracle. Going to the kitchen to look at the cook won’t make the food any better. That’s the meaning of (44, 2).


  5. But DL, what if I like to study cheese boxes? What if it makes me happy to understand how a cheese box is put together? I am not asking for an oracle’s question. I can (and do have the ability to) do so anytime I need to. You don’t understand. This is not about me and my little questions. This is about the I Ching. I want to understand the I Ching’s roots, the origins, the form, the function. How can I say that I really have a deep love for Taoism and the I Ching if I don’t even know how it got started, or where it came from, what it looks like, and how it works?

    Does this make any sense to you at all? I am not seeking to just be a front-end user of the I Ching. I want to understand all aspects of the I Ching. It will be a life-long process of learning, discovering, rediscovering, and exploration of things not yet understood with today’s technology and wisdoms.


  6. Yes it’s perfectly fine, it’s not a problem with me. As long as you remember that the oracle uses the hexagrams as she see fits and not as they are supposed to mean.


  7. Also, I think that we could all use a little bit of ‘going into the kitchen to look at the cooking’ to improve our cooking skills. It is the height of arrogance to think that we no longer need to learn, to discover, to improve our skills, and that all we have learned all we need to know.

    Tell you what, you do it your way, and I’ll do it my way. We all have our own paths to walk. No need to call each other names or be derogatory to each other just because we don’t walk the same paths.


  8. What?!?
    You said: ” As long as you remember that the oracle uses the hexagrams as she see fits and not as they are supposed to mean.”.
    Are you even comprehending what you just wrote? DL, Think about that sentence and clarify yourself.


  9. You still need to ask the cook for permission before going to the kitchen.

    “as she sees fit” sorry for the typo. The hexagrams are nothing but words or fingers that the oracle uses to point things at you or tell you something. Always ask yourself this question: if you could speak only with hexagrams, which one would you use?


  10. I’m not calling you names or being derogatory, I wouldn’t talk with you if I was thinking bad of you. But when I think you’re wrong I tell you. I’m sorry if I don’t use the best diplomatic language.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s